The Élysée Palace has been the centre of power since the French Republic’s beginnings, but it is relatively modest in size given that 800 officials work there every day. 

That is why other buildings have been appointed for use as departments for the Presidency of the Republic. The following are in close proximity to the Rue du Faubourg Saint Honoré:

  • Hôtel de Marigny, former residence for visiting heads of State. Today, it houses the offices for employees in the parliamentary department;
  • The building located at 2 rue de l’ Élysée, or Hôtel de Hirsch, which houses the diplomatic unit;
  • The building located at 4 rue de l’ Élysée, or Hôtel de l’Impératrice, because it belonged to the Empress Eugénie. Now it houses certain technical departments, such as events and production;

In a neighbouring arrondissement, the former imperial stables, currently the Palais de l’Alma, houses several technical teams, including those in charge of heritage, the IT networks and presidential correspondence. 

Lastly, two residences are dedicated to the private use of the President of the French Republic and his family. They are the Pavillon de la Lanterne, located on the outskirts of Paris, and the Fort de Brégançon, located by the sea in the Var département (southern France). These two sites allow the President of the Republic to retreat to a calm and secure location.

Discover the history of the Elysée Palace

2018-07-05 Paris, Jardin du palais de l'Elysée

Updated : 15 December 2022